The following provides a general overview.  For detailed rules, applicants should check Regulation #2: Registration and Licensing.  For registration and licence fees, applicants should check Regulation #8: Fees.

A Regular Licence is available to physicians certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the College of Physicians of Québec.  Eligible candidates should contact the Registration Department of the College for an application.  They should also note that privileges with a Regional Health Authority are always necessary to practise medicine in New Brunswick.

A Defined Licence is based on a demonstrated need and is available in a number of circumstances.  These include physicians who have the Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC) as well as appropriate postgraduate training as defined by Regulation.  In addition, physicians appropriately licensed in another jurisdiction in Canada or the United States may be eligible for licensure.  Applicants should contact the Regional Health Authorities regarding possible positions.  

A Special Licence is available to other physicians who are to be directly recruited by a Regional Health Authority. Physicians should contact the Regional Health Authorities regarding possible positions.  Please note that there is no practice ready assessment program available in New Brunswick. 

The above licences are granted on an annual or Locum (3 month) basis. 

In addition, there are limited forms of licensure available as a Courtesy Licence for visiting consultants, or as a Border Area Licence for certain physicians practising in neighbouring jurisdictions.  Applications for registration on such bases are available from the Registration Department.

General Information

Address all correspondence to

Dr. Laurie A. Potter, Registrar and CEO
College of Physicians and Surgeons of New Brunswick
One Hampton Road, Suite 300
Rothesay, NB E2E 5K8 

Contact Us

Hours of Operation

Mon. to Thu.: 8:30am to 4:30pm
Friday: 8:30am to 1pm